Home
Accommodation
Attractions
Local Walks
Weather
Tariff
Find Us
Contact Us
About St Curigs Church

{short description of image}


St Curigs offers that something different in bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of Snowdonia National Park - modern ensuite bedrooms in the unique surroundings of a spectacular 19th century church

Until 1848, Capel Curig formed a chapelry in the parish of Llandegai but was administered by the priest from Dolwyddelan with worship being held in the old St Curigs church which dates from the 13th century and was originally Curigs Chapel from which the village got its name. With the growing number of visitors to Capel Curig in the 19th century the old St Curigs church (now St Julitta's ) became too small to accommodate the congregation and the new St Curigs church was opened in 1883. The new church was dedicated to St. Curig, the boy martyr and the dedication of the old church was then changed to St. Julitta - Curig's mother. Whilst services where transferred to the new church the graveyard at the old church continued in use until quite recently.


St Curigs was deconcecrated in 1992 and was taken over by the current owner in 1998 to be lovingly transformed to provide luxury bed and breakfast accommodation

{short description of image}
View of Snowdon Horseshoe from hill behind St Curigs


Being located in Capel Curig the converted church is ideal for those wishing to explore Snowdonia - walkers, climbers and tourists alike

Your host Alice Douglas strives to ensure that St Curigs offers high quality accommodation which is unique for the area, providing both character and charm along with personal and friendly service